Not So Happy New Year 

I always feel psychologically challenged when the new year rolls in. The new year always brings in mixed emotions that I feel like I’m changing emotional gears every two minutes!

Honestly, growing up kinda sucked on New Years. When you grow up in an alcoholic home, one minute you can be laughing and the next…complete chaos. Drunken fights…screaming…and shouting! It’s truly a mad house and stays with you.

Now I’ve been married almost 24 years…it’s been that long since those days are behind me. My husband and I have done everything possible to protect our kids from that kind of pain and fear. Thankfully by the grace of God, they don’t know the effects of an alcoholic home!  But the memories live on and still haunt me after all these years….maybe they are a fresh wound with losing mom this year. Either way, the new year always makes me feel like something horrible is going to happen.

Help me Lord to overcome the pain of the past and leave it there. I can’t change it. I can’t rewind it or make it go away….but I pray the Lord heal my mind from it.

Surely, I am not the only one who experiences this….pray for me as I pray for you. May 2016 be the year we experience healing from the past. 

God bless you.

Leave a Reply

