Morgan’s at the Door

Texas is always full of outdoor creatures.  Some you love and some, well, just bug you – literally.  Where we live, we get our share of unwelcome crawlers and buzzing around flyers…We have had cute, little baby rabbits running around the yard…night possums that keep our dog on edge but mostly, our home has been a welcome mat for birds of the air.

At our front entryway, the birds have found a place to call home. There is a small nest at the top of our entryway. It’s been here for a few years – before we moved in three years ago. It’s a treat every year to see this awesome gift of life unfold at our front door. The thrill of seeing tiny little beaks poke up over the edge….soon, tiny little heads…and then, eventually, the upper parts of their bodies as they near their initial flight!

It’s a beautiful sound to hear the little chirps grow in to melodic singing. Sometimes, I just stand and watch them singing their little bird hearts out. I greet them as we pass by and from time to time, I’ll “sing back” to them. It’s a special gift of God to be able to share our home with His creation.

Well, a little over a week ago, we were heading out the front door and found a little bird gimping along. It was obviously injured and wasn’t going very far. It was bigger than our baby friends in the nest, so it had to be another visitor. Now, I really don’t know much about caring for birds.  I just know I enjoy “hosting” them from time to time.  But, I wasn’t enjoying this moment. 

I called the police department and apologized for calling them – as I had no idea what to do with an injured bird.  They connected me to animal control dispatch…and for whatever reason, animal control was not working that day…so they were going to send a police officer to remove it. 

My son, did not want to leave its side.  He was so concerned for its well being.  Now, my son has MS. We live in Texas. It’s hot in Texas. Heat and MS do not like each other. So, I was obviously concerned for my son who insisted on standing out in the Texas heat until the officer would arrive.  Not gonna happen.

Still needing to run our errands, I wrote a note for the officer and taped it to our front door with a shoe box for transporting the bird.  The bird had made its way under a front bush – resting in the shade and out of harm’s way. So, my son was okay leaving him now. Things were not okay when we returned. The bird was still in the same spot but no longer alive.

Animal Control never came.  No police officer ever came.  So, now, what am I supposed to do with a dead bird?  

Well, finally today, we gave “Morgan” a proper burial. When we realized he had died, my daughter immediately named him Morgan. “He has to have a name,” she said.  Both kids insisted we have a burial for Morgan. So, we put Morgan in the shoe box until we could bury him. We just couldn’t bury him on Father’s Day…or my daughter’s birthday…or..or…or…so today was the day.

My sweet husband found a spot in the yard and dug a small hole. We gathered on the back patio to pay our last respects to Morgan. My husband wrapped Morgan in a white napkin and took on his pastoral duties…He holds Morgan up to begin the “service” and has this blank look on his face. “I have no idea what to say at a bird funeral,” he said. So, I told him, “Let’s just pray!”

In that moment, the Lord spoke to me as I started to pray….I started off just saying, I don’t know why He chose to have Morgan die at our front door.  Perhaps it was a reminder that His word tells us that as He makes provision for the birds of the air…He makes every provision for His children. I thanked Him for trusting us and our home as a safe haven for the birds to come and nest. And, thanked Him for using Morgan as a reminder of His promise of provision.

 And that is why God allowed Morgan to die at our door.

Matthew 6:25-27 New International Version (NIV)

25 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? 26 Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27 Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?

 Image

 

Leave a Reply

