Adjustments

Today is my son’s 16th birthday. I’ve always counted birthdays as very special days.  They were always a big deal growing up and there was usually a BIG party whether a person turned 1 or 100!  When my husband and I had children, that was one thing I told him…I acknowledge birthdays and they don’t pass quietly. But,  today, is a quiet day in our home.

Over the last month, we have been on this emotional rollercoaster some call medical mysteries. It started with my son being tired a lot and experiencing headaches and blurred vision. We had  been very busy so we chalked it up to that. Then, a few days later he mentioned double vision….that set the course for a new direction.

First stop: vision check. We met a very caring and compassionate doctor who was clear that our son needed to see a neurologist right away. Their office made great strides to get us connected with one. It seemed like forever waiting to get an appointment but truly I know the demand for neurologists is high and the wait could have been much, much longer.

Truly, the kid never gets sick so other than a well child visit, I can only recall taking him to see a doctor sick only once. So, to think neurologist scared me to death.

Well, after all is said and done, we now know why our son would fall to sleep at the drop of a hat…why his eyes were crossing in front of us….why a once vibrant teenager now has low energy reserves. The doctor believes my son has Multiple Sclerosis.

So, today, our talking a mile a minute, bundle of wise cracking joy is spending his day sleeping…regaining juice from his very small birthday party last Friday so he can get through another school day tomorrow. Our brainiac son, .who just ranked #11 in his class- is now under physical and spiritual attack.

Strangely, the Lord prepared me for those words the night before we found out.  I spent some time in prayer and crying before God asking for answers. By the time I fell to sleep, I felt those were the words we would hear from the doctor. Not that it makes it easier but in a sense, it does…

As hard as it is to see my son’s energy levels deplete so quickly, I know this is not the end to life…just an adjustment to how we walk through it. GOD’s word rings out….

For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord , plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope. Jeremiah 29:11 ESV

All of our best laid plans are nothing compared to the Master’s plan…I know His plans for my son are going to blow us all away.

Happy Birthday My Sleepy Little Grasshopper! The best is yet to come!

One thought on “Adjustments

  1. Kim, my heart is so sad to hear this! He is in our prayers! I take care of a client with MS. To hear about someone so young is terrible! I know God is on control and can do the impossible!

Leave a Reply

