Never Forget

Image

photo by matt gruber, courtesy creationswap.com

I think we all have a “never forget” story.  I think most of us can recall where we were, what we were doing the moment we heard the news on 9/11/01.

It was still early morning in Alaska when the phone rang.  We were still asleep in our home not quite ready to wake up…just a few more minutes…but trying to get those last minutes before the alarm goes off.

It was my husband’s mom.  She had an elevated tone in her voice.  All I remember was “We are under terror attack! They flew a plane into the World Trade Center.”  I don’t think I had quite the response she expected…I think I said something along the lines of “Oh no that’s terrible.”  We quickly ended the call.  I hung up the phone – still half sleeping.  My husband asked what that was about…with only a little energy, I said, “Something about a plane flying into the World Trade Center.”  DING! The light went on…finally realizing what I had just heard and said…we both jumped out of bed..”Oh my God!”

We ran downstairs and turned on the tv and like the rest of you, stood in shock, horror and disbelief at the images shown.  This wasn’t a Hollywood film.  This wasn’t a joke. This was for real.  All day.  Every channel.  There was no escaping the horror of what happened that morning.

Interestingly, it was the second day of Kindergarten for my little girl.  All I wanted to do was hold my kids all day.  My wise husband reassured me that she would be fine – so I took her to school.  It was like the first day of school all over again with parents crying but now for different reason.  That morning, reciting The Pledge of Allegiance came with a greater passion, an empowered breath and a proud heart while fighting back the tears.  The “Pledge” took on an entirely new meaning that morning.

“I Pledge Allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America, and to the Republic for which it stands, One Nation Under God, Indivisible, with Liberty and Justice for All.”

God Bless the USA

Leave a Reply

