September Snow

It’s always the strangest things that stick in our minds….a memory triggered that makes you fight back the tears. Something so simple that all of a sudden seems of great significance. A couple of days ago when I posted “Ledges,”  I read through old posts.  I became suddenly aware of a tradition that has come to an end.

Last October, my mother-in-law, Olivia went to be with the Lord.  She was an amazing women of great faith and was a beautiful example of the virtuous women.  She bravely fought a long battle with cancer. Thankfully, my husband was able to be at her side when she took her last breath.

There are so many memories that I carry with me.  The most amazing and beautiful memory happened a month before she died.  Our family was able to visit her September 2012.  We knew the time was getting close and needed to make preparations to go to Alaska.  The question was do we go sooner or later.  We could only make one trip. If we went before she passed, we knew we couldn’t go again for the funeral. After praying and talking with our kids, we all agreed on sooner. We wanted our kids to have a joyful and memorable visit with their grandma. They wanted to see her grandma alive and had no interest in seeing her body after she passes.

Now, we lived in Alaska for about 20 years.  I’ve seen many, many snowflakes hit the ground.  There was none more beautiful and amazing then the God-given dust of snow we saw in September.  She kept saying she wanted some snow which usually came in October, sometimes late October.  But, amazingly, the good Lord saw fit to give her snow in September.  We sat in her bedroom gazing out the huge window and saw snowflake after snowflake fall.  Still the beauty of the snow was no comparison to the glow in her eyes and the smile on her face.  Such a treasured moment I will never forget.

Sadly, I’ll never receive another Christmas ornament from my mother-in-law.  But, I do receive a legacy of faith to the generations because of the amazing gift she gave her family – Jesus.

As the words to Carrie Underwood’s song say, “Said goodbye, turned around and you were gone…..”

“I’ll see you again…This is not where it ends. I will carry you with me…Til’ I see you again!”

Rest in Peace Olivia

Image

Leave a Reply

